Sitting on 1200+/- acres of equine, hunting, and recreational land in Clarion County, near the quaint little town of Foxburg, PA, the Riverstone Estate offers privacy, luxury and a lifestyle all it's own!
Located at the intersection of the Allegheny & Clarion Rivers, this estate has approx 6 miles of river frontage, several miles of trails and 23 ponds throughout the property.
The 3-story, Federal-style Mansion, was originally built in 1828 by the Fox Family of Philadelphia, PA, and (the interior) refinished in 2002, consists of 5 bedrooms, 5 full baths , 4 powder rooms, and 17 unique fireplaces. The rooms of the Mansion each feature a different hardwood and their own unique personality. Retire to the Library, Music room, Conservatory, English-style Pub, one of the 5 large bedrooms, or simply take a trip to your wine cellar to unwind after a long day.
The estate consists of 26 total structures, including:
The Greenhouse was designed by Lord & Burnham, noted American greenhouse manufacturers and builders
The Carriage House was designed in 1876 by Frank Heyling Furness, an acclaimed American architect, and built by a friend of the Fox Family. This beautifully crafted building, which was restored in 2001, is just adjacent to the Mansion and serves the Estate in many ways. The basement of this building is considered to be the electrical center for the main compound, complete with generator. The first floor functions as carriage room. While the second floor of this remarkable structure serves as a guest home; featuring a master suite, great room, gourmet kitchen and dining room.
The Alpaca Barn was constructed in 2001
The Garden House is most noted for a handmade stained glass door in the entranceway.
Designed to model the distinctive masonry details of the Carriage House and provide a place for doves to nest, the Dovecote was built in 2004.
West (Alpha) Barn
Hand crafted in 2001 and newly sided upon restoration, and provides space for a four stall garage as well as a second floor workshop
The Aviary's intriguing exterior was constructed in 2001 by fashioning red cedar logs similarly to that of a traditional stone building. A slate roof and copper copula added the finishing touches to this extraordinary structure. Coupled with a gated enclosure, covered with netting, the Aviary has been home to peacocks, owls and a variety of other birds.
Corn Crib/ Wood Shed
One of the few original structures on the Estate. The wood shed was newly sided in 2002.
The Chicken House was restored and enlarged in 2003.
East (Beta) Barn
Built in 2001, The East Barn is used mainly for storage of farm equipment and straw. The structure also features the cupolla from a Church in Eastern, PA.
This Sugar House was constructed in 2003. Featuring cedar siding and a tin roof, this construction was used in order to facilitate the production of maple syrup.
Timber Stone Garage
This four stall heated garage is located adjacent to and serves both the Timber Stone House and Cottage
Timber Stone House
The Timber Stone House was custom designed by Lee Ligo, a well known local architect. This magnificent five bedroom home features a 1st floor master suite with stone fireplace, a cathedral ceiling over the gourmet kitchen, a great room with stone fireplace, and dining room. There are heated slate and wood floors throughout and river views from several rooms, decks and patios.
Timber Stone Cottage
The Timber Stone Cottage provides spectacular views of the Clarion River. Also, designed by Lee Ligo, the cottage features 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a greatroom with fireplace and a patio.
Originally used to house horses for riding for the Handicapped, the Sheep Barn was updated with new cedar siding in 2004. In the field adjacent to the barn, stands a lean-to handcrafted with stone from the Estate. Both the barn and lean-to provide shelter for the sheep.
The Maintenance Building was built in 2001. This spacious metal building is used to house large equipment as well as provide space for a workshop and welding station.
Two Blue Houses
The Two Blue Houses are located next to the Maintenance Building and are identical in design. These houses come equipped with 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, living room, kitchen, deck and a full basement.
Log Stone House
The Log Stone House, located on the North side of the Estate, sits upon beautifully crafted stone foundation.
Cow & Hay Barn
The Cow & Hay Barn was built in 2004 and provides shelter, in inclement weather, for the many varieties of cattle as well as storage for their feed.
Originally built in 1910 and restored in 2002, the Gate House features 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen and office.
This Equestrian Complex was redesigned in 2003 to incorporate as well as mimic the design of the original dairy barns. Built in 1910, the two original barns, each 188 feet in length and 38 feet wide and connected to form the traditional H, provided a classically impressive design from which to elaborate. This skillfully appointed facility is currently home to the Carriage Museum, Barn Stables, and Vet room with Barn Manager Apartment, the Equestrian Center Residence as well as the Events Center.
Equestrian Center Residence
The Equestrian Center also has a vast capability of accommodation. The grand facility is home to a barn manager’s apartment as well as an additional home. The home features a master bedroom with cathedral ceiling, a loft, and French doors that lead to a second story deck. The barn manager's residence is a one-bedroom loft apartment.
The Events Center, part of the extraordinary Equestrian Facility, is an outstanding 200 feet in length and 100 feet wide. The clear span indoor riding arena is equipped with a dust control sprinkler system. This exceptional Center comes complete with a viewing room, office and bar.
The Estate provides a tranquil setting for a relaxing escape to the country as well as all of the hunting Pennsylvania offiers. This property provides access to deer hunting, bear, bobcat, foxes, cottontail rabbits, turkey, small birds such as ruffed grouse, pheasants and much more.
The Riverstone Estate is truly a unique experience!
Photos by Dennis Keyes